We are a family of six with 4 children aged 12, 16, 19 and 21 (the oldest two now having left home), living in the bucolic Scottish Borders. We live in a Georgian villa dating from 1791, complemented by large gardens rich in wildlife (and ducks and chickens!). We have been welcoming guests to our attached self-catering holiday apartment since 2014 and have enjoyed meeting many interesting people during this time.

We have also been letting a room in the house through Airbnb on a bed and breakfast basis. Our recently restored guest room in the basement of the house has underfloor heating and the private wet room is just across the corridor, to create comfortable and spacious lodgings. Coming to stay with us as a house guest is a very informal affair, and for a small charge guests are invited to take part in our family meals, whatever that happens to be on that particular day!

We are doing most of the renovation works ourselves and it feels like they are never going to be finished, so please bear in mind that you will come across many features in the house which could be described as “faded grandeur” or perhaps just “faded”.

Our first guests in the new room were a couple of bikers and we were so taken with them we’ve decided to advertise on the Bikers Guide website (and let’s face it, it’s quite exciting having classy motorbikes pull up on the drive!). We have drying facilities and a cold and a hot outside tap (more by accident than design, not intentionally plumbed that way…!), which has been known to come in handy! 

Looking forward to meeting many more interesting people in the not too distant future.